The Center for Business Innovation grew out of a three-pronged approach to develop a stronger, sustainable business community: all-encompassing economic development (urban centers, agriculture, tourism, localism, education, housing, traditional commercial development), better business integration, and better advocacy efforts. The steering committee meets monthly. Each quarter, CBI holds an open meeting.


Dennis Barnett         Lucy Joyce          

Maureen Halahan     Valerie Maginsky

Gary Schuster            Dawn Ansbro  

Nancy Proyect           Sharon Soons


End of Summer Event

Meets on an as-needed basis; this committee plans the Citizens Foundation’s annual meeting and end of summer event that has traditionally taken place on the Seligmann property.


Christa Orsino          Andrea Nilon       

Domanie Ragni        Danielle Farrell

Jacqueline Masterson



Meets monthly to oversee the finances of the organization and to develop the Foundation’s budget. A subset of the Finance Committee serves as the Foundation’s Audit Committee.


Bob Marchione            Rich Capicchioni

Justin Rider                 Michael Mazzuca



Meets monthly; this committee focuses on water, wastewater and transportation infrastructure. Goals include educating the public on the importance of strong infrastructure to maintain  good quality of life, advising and educating municipal and county leaders and staff on better infrastructure management.


Dick McGoey               Justin Rider

Robert Marchione      Elaine McClung

Tom Olley                     Lou Ingrassia

Joe McKay



Meets monthly; committee focus is on arts programming on the Seligmann Center property and furthering the name of Kurt Seligmann as an artist, scholar, and community builder.


Dan Mack                    Mary Altobelli

Kerry Boland              Bonnie Croskey         

Jean Galli                     Janet Hamill

David Horton             Sarah Potter

William Seaton          Jerome Spector   

Jonathan Talbot        Robert Whitman



meets on an as-needed basis; this committee works to educate the public on the importance of agriculture to our quality of life and economy and to advocate for continued investment and attention in the agricultural business sector.


Greg DeBuck, Chair   

Blane Allen                  Will Brown

Jeff Crist                       John Lavelle 

Amy Noteboom          Paul Ruszkiewicz

Sharon Soons              Marie Ullrich



Meets monthly, generally the 3rd Friday of each month. This committee focuses on improving transit options throughout the County, expanding surface transportation where appropriate, and developing an overall vision and strategy for transportation options in the region.

Ed Garling                    Glenn Gidaly 

Susan Hawvermale     Frank McLaughlin

Julie Richmond     Hon. Michael Sweeton

Stu Turner 



Meets monthly; this committee is comprised of people from the health sector and interested citizens to encourage collaboration and communication between healthcare entities and, on occasion, to provide education to the public.


Gaynor Rosenstein       Elaine McClung

Allison Horan                 Doreen Keyer 

Gwen Borsenberger     Christine Dorsey

Jackie Lawler                  Joe McPheter

Jason Rashford        Michael Limperoplus

Marcel Martino



Meets monthly to engage new members; retain current members and enhance the membership experience through targeted fundraising efforts and exclusive membership benefits.


Andrea Nilon              Lia Fierro

Jacqueline Masterson 

Christa Orsino           John Carola

Allison Cappella


2018 Ottaway Medal Dinner

The Ottaway Medal, named for Ruth and James Ottaway, Sr., is presented on an annual basis to an individual who has contributed significantly to the quality of life in Orange County. The award ceremony is the largest fundraiser for the Citizens Foundation.  


Rick Alfandre               John Carola

Maureen Halahan      Bob Kaehler

William Kaplan           Andy Komonchak

Bruce Lott                Jacqueline Masterson

Dick McGoey               Janette McKay

Bonnie Neucall            Andrea Nilon

Christa Orsino             Nancy Proyect

Justin Rider                  Cathie Hunter

Mona Rieger                Robin Seidman

Jimmy Smith               Mark Stier

Bill Vacca



Meets bi-monthly; this committee is comprised of trail advocates and representatives of trail organizations. Goals include expansion of the Orange County Heritage Trail, development of trails throughout the region, and increased usage of trails for recreation and transportation.


Burt Thelander            Kerron Barnes

Stacey Calta                 Matt Decker

Russell Hallock            Ashlee Long

Valerie Maginsky        Sona Mason

Andrea Nilon               John Strobl      

Stu Turner                   Hon. John Vero

Michael Ward            Joe Wojciehowski

Hon. Peter Tuohy



Meets monthly; placemaking is a planning tool where community members are at the core of community growth and development. Our committee works with individuals, community groups, and municipalities, as well as the public to educate on placemaking principles and to implement change. We hold placemaking tours, workshops, training sessions, and an annual conference (with awards).


Matt Milnamow           Stu Turner

Ross Winglovitz           Christina Amato

Danielle Farrell            Noreen Fennell

Deb Garry                      Christina LaPerle

Lou Marquet                  Janette McKay      

Megan Tennermann 


Quality of Life

Meets on an as-needed basis to develop the Quality of Life Report Card and organize elected officials debates, and other events/initiatives.